space
space
Who is alistair.davenport@zoom.co.uk?
space

alistair.davenport@zoom.co.uk wants a website

Alistair wants a website

Questions, questions, questions.

Well, only one actually.

I don't advertise, so how did this guy get my address?




The web designer responds to a very vague design query

Web designer responds to design query


Alistair answers too few questions
Alistair answers too few questions

Well, that wasn't too helpful. Now I'm really curious.

First, "cakes" "on the internet"???

    Perhaps a spotted dick, but never a fine layer cake.

    I don't know the UK market, though.

    Mayhap that there's a different perspective.

    For example that cultural division between cookies and biscuits.

Next, recipes.... Use a search engine. Type "Recipes" for the search term.

    Ok, OK! Narrow the search to "Cookie Recipes".

      [UK readers can use "biscuit recipes" but it won't help...]

   Did you find someone who will make money on this one?

      Congratulate them.


Hmmm... is this guy really that clueless about money?

  Or does he have too much of it?

  I did notice that Alistair is from the UK.

  I noticed that Alistair had used dollars, not pounds in his first letter.

  and I saw that Alistair laughed-out-loud (LOL)

   about having been foolish with money

   for "the last ten years or so". Odd.


And most suspicious of all....

    Praise for MY Doctor Who pages? Found from a link?

    My Doctor Who page is the lamest on the entire internet.

      I know, I've looked.

    It's not linked from anywhere.

      I know, I've looked.

    However, I have the best Dalek related link page.

      I know, etc.

    Here's an inside fact: A real Whovian would have commented on this.


"Oh well", I thought. I'll wait until Alistair answers a few more of the questions I had asked before I tell him that he needs someone else to write his web page.




alistair.davenport@zoom.co.uk resurfaces months later.

Tactfully, he libels the webmaster as he demands that a website be destroyed
Web designer receives libelous demand to destroy website

Hey! I'll be up front here. I did the TYFTR.com website.


I've never been involved in any "The High Court" action.


So far the only fraud here is alistair.davenport@zoom.co.uk

He/she/it misrepresented his/her/itself on the first contact.

Is there really a wife who runs a bakery?


I did figure out the answer to my first question, though.

Because I don't cheerfully share my email addie, Ali D had to look my email address up with a whois tool.

So, why didn't Ali D use the "Contact Us" button on the website?




Web designer receives piece of message board Ali D deems offensive

Web designer receives piece of message board Ali D deems offensive

Questions, questions, questions.

Why did he edit the spelling?

In the original the word "pschiatry" is spelled "siciatry".

The title here is "DISAPPEARANCE" on the wwwboard it's "THE DISAPPEARANCE".

And weirdly, "defense" has become "defence". Odd.

Finally, the date on this version is the 6th, the date on the website is the 7th.




I've deconstructed the next email to make it easier to follow. I hope that I've succeeded.


Ali D sends Peak a copy of a complaint sent to OSU

Alistair.Davenport@zoom.co.uk sends Peak his complaint to OSU


Peak asks Ali D why they received this complaint

Peak asks Alistair why they received this complaint


Ali D claims that Peak hosts TYFTR.com

Alistair claims Peak hosts TYFTR.com


Peak points out Ali D's error

Peak points out the error


Finally, the web designer is notified of the complaints by his local ISP

Web designer is notified by local ISP


Next, the Web designer is pressed for action by local ISP as Ali D seems crazed

Web designer is pressed for action by local ISP as Ali D seems stuck in the details


Web designer responds to local ISP

Web designer responds to local ISP


Meanwhile back at the University, the threatening tone of Ali D increases

Others are receiving missives from Alistair.Davenport@zoom.co.uk

Ali D doesn't stop with one complaint to OSU.


Unsatisfied with the slow action of a bureaucracy, one minute later, he includes libel in a second email to pep things up.

Alistair tries again at OSU


The pot is beginning to simmer, Ali D has tripped an alarm. Sort of.

Campus Security appreciates being kept in the loop


Ali D is still throwing modified debris from the web board around.

Ali D tries to convince

And, of course, a copy of the registry data, to show the Uni's complicity.

Ali D tries to convince


The Vice Provost shares some info with the Office of Public Safety [AKA 'Campus Security']

Vice Provost at OSU responds to Campus Security

It also appears that the Uni does know a little about me, though I haven't worked for the "Foundation" since January of 2001.

I sent the nice lady a card and some dosh for a double mocha.


OSU tech support gets its marching orders

Vice Provost at OSU directs tech support to get answers


The tech support guy at OSU asks Donnell to fix a typographic error.

OSU tech support asks greybeaver - wassup-wit-dat?

Hmmm. "know a lot of the same people" at least one of whom knew me personally and spotted that I'd made a typo.

Perhaps Ali D is out of his league when it's trans-Atlantic cyber-libel.



So, I respond to the request

Donnell responds to OSU tech support


In a sly maneuver to show he (and OSU) knows who I am and what my real phone number is, Ali D sends a plea for correction of the online data.

Ali D shows he knows how to use the yellow pages

Compared to the UK, looking up personal data in the US is a breeze.

There are dozens of websites that want to help look up a friend or foe. A name and a general address make it easy.

Coincidentally, someone, who wouldn't leave a message on the machine, started calling my home in the middle of the night.


Well, I've fixed the contact data.

Corrected contact data for TYFTR.com

In the UK, phone numbers are not included in the domain name registry data. But, Fortress Europe is about to change that.

Ali D, are you the same character who posted a fraudulent, threatening message from MI5 [the official British organization that is responsible for protecting military and political secrets] on the Benjamin Pell Information Spy message board?

If so, OOPS, another mistake! They've got your number.


Whatcha gonna do, when they come for YOU, Ali D?

Whatcha gonna do?

spacer
space